Double-move Chess

Chess variant

Chess variant where players move twice in each turn. The exception is the very first turn, when White moves only once.

Otherwise the rules of chess apply, with the following differences:


The bishop can capture the queen in one turn, in two consecutive moves.

The bishop can capture the king in two consecutive moves. White wins immediately after the first move.

The knight can capture the pawn safely, as it can move back to its original field (or to an other field) in the second move.

No matter White is in check, moving with the white bishop is legal in the first move, since escaping from check is only neccessary in the second move.

Similar variants

Fred Galvin mathematician, 1957[wiki]

External link